Our Writers

Elaine "Lainey" Lui

lainey@laineygossip.com

Elaine "Lainey" Lui is the founder and Editor of LaineyGossip.com, co-host of CTV's daytime talk show "The Social", and a reporter on CTV's "etalk". Lainey has covered the Red Carpet at the Oscars, SuperBowl XLII, Cannes and Toronto International Film Festivals, and other top tier events worldwide, and is regularly called upon by various media outlets including CNN, CBC, CTV News as one of Canada's top celebrity and pop culture experts. In 2014 Lainey became a best-selling author with her memoir "Listen to the Squawking Chicken".



Duana Taha

duana@laineygossip.com

Duana is a television screenwriter whose credits include Degrassi: The Next Generation, Lost Girl, Lost & Found Studios, and many more. On LaineyGossip.com, she raves about television, feminism, and "Hamilton", and writes the popular name column "Duana Names". She also hosts the hit podcast 'Show Your Work' with Elaine Lui, and is the author of the bestselling book, 'The Name Therapist'.



Hayley McGowan

hayley@laineygossip.com

Hayley has been a personal trainer in the city of Vancouver and holds a Bachelors of Human Kinetics from the University of British Columbia, and will soon hold her Comprehensive Pilates certification from Balanced Bodies. When she is not busy working or writing the smutty fitness column, she spends much of her spare time practicing yoga and exploring the mountains of the West Coast, either by foot, on her snowboard or on her mountain bike.



Joanna Adams

joanna@laineygossip.com

Joanna is a producer at Canada's most-watched entertainment news show, etalk. Her obsessive Oscar knowledge has contributed to back-to-back etalk's Canadian Screen Award nominations for "Best Talk Program or Series." She also works as an associate news editor at HuffPost Canada.



Kathleen Newman-Bremang

kathleen@laineygossip.com

Kathleen has worked at some of the biggest media outlets in North America: MuchMusic, MTV and CTV. Currently, she's a celebrity and entertainment producer at daytime talk show The Social. In addition to writing for LaineyGossip, her side hustle includes contributing to various publications like Elle Canada, Corduroy Magazine and The Kit.



Maria Tallarico

maria@laineygossip.com

Maria spent 7 years as a managing editor of a digital women's magazine and has used that expertise to analyze the intersection of celebrity and lifestyle as an entertainment writer. Beyond LaineyGossip, her work has appeared in Cosmopolitan, Elle, Harper's Bazaar, Salon, Flare and HuffPost. She's also a frequent guest contributor on CTV Morning Live Vancouver.



Sarah Marrs

sarah@laineygossip.com

Sarah is a film critic and entertainment writer. She is a member of the Chicago Film Critics Association and can also be found writing at Cinesnark.com and @Cinesnark. She didn't choose the skux life, the skux life chose her.



Sasha Tong

sasha@laineygossip.com

Sasha heads up the fashion department as an entertainment producer at eTalk. She's also the founder and creator of Lost & Found Apothecary.